I swam a hour at Lake Benbrook today. For some odd reason I didn't bring my wetsuit. OK, I didn't bring it because Louisville will not be wetsuit legal, but my next race is Buffalo Springs 70.3 and it will be so I need to keep wearing my suit for open water swims. The water was cold but felt good on my sore legs from yesterday's ride. It was windy but I felt strong going into the wind and really stretched out and glided coming back.
The wind really picked up on the run and the sun came out from behind the clouds and the humidity seemed to jump. I went out 30 min and the wind was brutal. I went ahead and went up Nice Hill though my 30 min was up and it was a mistake. While I made it up the hill fine I had no gas left in the tank to come back. That was disappointing because I had the wind with me. I didn't gel at the half way point either and I should have. I decided not to because it was only a hour run, but I'd just finished a hour swim. Lesson learned.
Ran to get a big Gatorade and on to Jimmy John's for sandwich. Hate it in the parking lot so it'd have time to digest while I drove back home for my 2 hour bike ride. The wind was really building and the skies were dark again. After being hailed on yesterday I pedaled a little faster then about half way point of first hour I kept hearing my phone signal text messages coming in. I finished climbing a long hill and pulled over. Glad I did because it was work issue that ended up taking my over 5 hours to resolve. I cut my ride short at 1 hour to deal with work and it was almost pitch black due to storms rolling in. It soon began to downpour - glad I cut it short. Got this weeks schedule and the coming week is going to be ball buster - can't wait
No comments:
Post a Comment