Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Yuck...

I felt very nauseous before workout today so headed home. By the time I got home I was both dizzy and nauseous so just went to bed and I was out by 8:30. Woke up feeling much better. Who knows what it was, probably didn't drink enough water - never do :(

Monday, April 25, 2011

Recovery week!

Had a day off - rest and relaxation today. That was a good ride yesterday as my legs are sore today. Getting stronger :)

Sunday, April 24, 2011

4 hours in the saddle

After yesterday's 2 hours on the bike followed by 1 hour run (not a brick) I already had a nice rash working and oh the pain today. 2 hours into my ride every pedal stroke hurt as the rash between my legs intensified. I guess I didn't put enough Body Glide on :)

The wind continued to try and dominate me again today coming strong out of the south it seemed like every substantial hill was into the wind. Today's 4 hour ride had 1849 feet of hill ascend and I felt it all today. When I got off of the bike I was wind whipped, stiff, nauseous, and my mind was in a fog. We choose to do this to ourselves?!

From talking to my coach I know that I'm a little short on my calorie intake, but we are trying to be more fat burning efficient at this stage of training, too, which is a great thing. The plan going forward will be to take in a few more calories to get me through the ride if I need it. On today's ride I lost 5.8 lbs or 2.8% of body weight so I'm right where I need to be (of course I put some of it back on by morning). However, I have officially lost a pound this year - not much, but not bad either considering I was at +13 in March. I'd really like to lose about another 13 lbs by IML. I take 1 gel (110 cal) every 30 minutes and drink 1 28 oz bottle water every hour (taking fluids every 10-15 min).

Saturday, April 23, 2011

Wind!

I'm sick and tired of the wind! Coach says it is a great opportunity - okay. So today's workout was 2 hour TP bike and 1 hour TP run (not brick). Rode with Jeff - he's such a machine. Once we hit an incline he takes off and I drop like a sack of potatoes.

The run went well. I still am surprised how my running has changed with just a little technique tweaks. My heart rate was on the high side of TP and I think it's because of dehydration. That concerns me because it happened on a 2 hour ride. I drank a Gatorade and water in between the ride & run so it was surprising, but it did present the opportunity to run on a little high heart rate than usual.

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Thursday was better

It only took 3 alarm clocks to get my lazy butt out the door this morning, but I did it. I put in an easy 45 min in heavy mist/light rain and it felt good to be done so early. The evening workout was another 2600 swim with lots of intervals and a race pace 300 yd test: 4:49:04 Not too speedy, but not bad for an age grouper either after putting in 2100 yards.

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

1 hr bike hill repeats - yeah!

Bike hill repeats went well. Anyone got a spare set of training wheels?

Thank you Coach for this morning's talk (email) - you're a good man.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Just not getting it done

Today I was scheduled for a run and swim workout and didn't get either one completed. I slept in this morning and was too late to get my run in. By quitting time at work I was really dragging. I got dressed to run and started messing with the pool. I was actually just putting the run off. We had some severe storms in the area that started just on the edge of town and continued to move away from us. I didn't get one drop of rain, but my excuse was if I went for a run I'd get stuck in a hail storm and if I drove to town for a swim then the pool would be closed due to lightening. I should have just went and ran on treadmill and then swam when the storm passed. I did get in bed earlier than usual. Will tri again tomorrow.

Monday, April 18, 2011

Drink your water!

Today was a good example on how not to be a good Triathlete. I slept in, again, and didn't get my lifting in until the evening. I then got on the trainer. All was going well, but I had the tension set too high and kept having to adjust it. Forty-five minutes into the scheduled 1.5 hour ride I was toast. Looking back I had one cup of water all day. What an idiot! Coffee and tea were the drink of choice and I was so dehydrated the ride kicked my butt. Lesson learned and will tri again tomorrow.

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Club workout

Today Playtri had a 2 hour swim, 1 hour bike and 1 hour run workout.  The day started about 50 degrees, but the wind wasn't so bad.  I was glad to get in the wet suit and in the water since the water was warmer, but that didn't last long as most people were shivering when they were discussing techniques to us.  Draft! Draft! Draft!  We practiced legal drafting on the bike and did a lot of run drills.  I'm feeling the best ever about my running ability!

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

7 mi run

Ran with Beth and Tonya today.  This is the first run I've ever had that I could keep up with Beth!  Yes, she was running slower than normal, but hey I did it and once she did speed up I was still able to hang.  It was a beautiful evening with out any wind and that doesn't happen very often.  Of course, I blew all of the work by going to Rio Mambo and having half a dozen corn tortillas before the meal showed up.  I had a grilled fish, mex rice and bean soup.  I've got to control that dinner, but I was down about 1500 calories going into dinner.  I need to eat more during the day.

Wed Lunch

Today's salad had Tortilla Crusted Talapia on it - pretty hardy at 649 cal.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Bike & Swim

Bike: 10 min wu/cd, then 40 minutes of in hardest gear go for 1 min push/pull as hard as I can and then spin for 2 min rest.  The 40+ grams of fiber I had today was sitting heavy and couldn't force myself to go as hard as usual.

Swim: met with Jeff and we had a workout of 22x50 yard sprints at different intensities, 2x400 yard IM pace (we practiced drafting) and had total of 2600 yard. 

Blew it all by going to Braum's for cheeseburger, fries and small shake. 

Tue Lunch - veg enchiladas 597 cal

Lunch: (3) spinach, mushroom, and garlic/onion enchiladas, quiona, black beans - 597 cal

Monday, April 11, 2011

Day off!

What's this?  I have a day off scheduled.  I think it's the 2nd day I've not had something scheduled since beginning my coaching with Roberto.  We had storms last night and this morning was cool and I was itching to go for a run.  WHAT?  WHO SAID THAT?  I actually said I was itching to go for a run?!  I never thought I'd mention those words.  What have I become?  Have I actually become an athlete?  A Triathlete?

We've been keeping close track of my food intake the last couple of weeks and I was a little surprised to find my fat intake so high.  We're going to shoot for 60% carb, 20% prtn and 20% fat and see how it goes.  Both my carb and protein we're lower that I expected.  This should improve some things.

Sunday, April 10, 2011

1st Open Water Swim of the season

I'm not sure what the temp of the water was, but I was OK in my wetsuit.  Wind was still sustained at about 20 mph, but I enjoyed the hour swim.  I found it really easy to spot where I was going, which I was surprised with after being in the pool all winter.  Neal and I swam while other NoNamers ran.  I wasn't up to running first with the way the wind was blowing.  I was still in the water when they got back and swam a few laps with them then I got out and kept a watchful eye on everyone.  After the swim brought our favorite thing about Triathlon: T3 at Fuzzy's Tacos.  Today the Migas was especially tasty.  I guess the swim was harder than I thought.  By the time I got home all I wanted was a nap and amazingly I was able to get one in even though the final round of the Masters was on.  I hit the record button and dozed off.  After I awoke I drank a little Gatorade and headed out for my hour TP run.  The wind had died down some, but it was still warm and today's Migas wasn't sitting well.  I think I was dehydrated because my HR was high from the get go.  I just kept the run slow and got through.  It was a good day to be a Triathlete!
 Mike, Kristen, Ben, Lionel

 Jeff

Saturday, April 9, 2011

4 hr ride in the wind

Today we had sustained winds at 25 mph with gusts AVERAGING 39 mph.  That equals a tough ride.  A 4 hour ride at that.  At one point heading into the wind out by Lake Benbrook in a flat section without any trees around I was going just about as hard as I could with my HR screaming I looked down to see I was going 7 mph.  I typically cruise 17-18 in that section.  Not to mention the wind, but it was the warmest day that I had ridden this season at 91 degrees and 65% humidity - bring on Louisville! I lost almost 6 lbs on that ride.