After yesterday's 2 hours on the bike followed by 1 hour run (not a brick) I already had a nice rash working and oh the pain today. 2 hours into my ride every pedal stroke hurt as the rash between my legs intensified. I guess I didn't put enough Body Glide on :)
The wind continued to try and dominate me again today coming strong out of the south it seemed like every substantial hill was into the wind. Today's 4 hour ride had 1849 feet of hill ascend and I felt it all today. When I got off of the bike I was wind whipped, stiff, nauseous, and my mind was in a fog. We choose to do this to ourselves?!
From talking to my coach I know that I'm a little short on my calorie intake, but we are trying to be more fat burning efficient at this stage of training, too, which is a great thing. The plan going forward will be to take in a few more calories to get me through the ride if I need it. On today's ride I lost 5.8 lbs or 2.8% of body weight so I'm right where I need to be (of course I put some of it back on by morning). However, I have officially lost a pound this year - not much, but not bad either considering I was at +13 in March. I'd really like to lose about another 13 lbs by IML. I take 1 gel (110 cal) every 30 minutes and drink 1 28 oz bottle water every hour (taking fluids every 10-15 min).
1 comment:
so proud of you!!! keep it up!
Post a Comment