Wednesday, September 7, 2011
30 min easy run
Finally, got my lazy butt out of bed and got a workout in before work. I had easy 30 min run so decided to go down to Split Rail and run the golf course and it was beautiful! The temp was about 59 and wind free. As the sun began to wake up the dew on the grass and shimmer on the ponds was absolutely peaceful. Running the front 9 was right at 3 miles - perfect.
Lauren had her 3rd softball practice and she is progressing rapidly. Today was the first day the kids were put in positions and Lauren was at short stop.
Steven has one his first challenge match on JV and his coach has told him he can challenge to move up to Varsity as he is the top male on JV. Pretty awesome for a freshman.
Saturday, August 27, 2011
1 day!
We woke up and I was feeling pretty good. We went down for the organized practice swim and with the music thumping and all of the people the excitement was in the air! The practice swim started at the finish and swam up river. We had been hearing all week about how bad the water was, but my first thought was it was not bad. Not bad at all. Much better than Lake Benbrook. I could actually see the end of my fingers where at Benbrook I couldn't even see my shoulder. Going up river wasn't bad either. I couldn't feel that I was going against the current and my left shoulder wasn't bothering too bad either. I went ahead and went as far as they would allow us and made the turn to come back. Before I knew it I was back and noticed that the current was actually pushing me past the exit so I made a note that I need to plan for that tomorrow. When we got out Jeff went to go get us some IM Perform sports drink which was to be served on the course tomorrow. The bottles he was given were screw top and not sports top and he was told that was going to be served on the course - what?! I was planning to use them on the bike. How am I going to use a screw top on the bike?!
Beth and the kids landed and I picked them at the airport. After I got them checked in we headed to our hotel. We finished packing our bike and run bags loaded the bikes and headed back to drop the bikes. This was very cool. At the bike entrance each athlete was met by one volunteer and that volunteer took me across the entire transition area. They walked us from the swim exit to the bike bag to the tent to the bike to the bike exit. Then showed us the path from the bike to the tent to the run. The was fabulous. So far the volunteers have been absolutely incredible.
After dropping the bikes off, we went for the last dinner before race day. We had Thai with Kristine, Trevor, Christina, Howard, Jeff, Beth, Steven and Lauren. The pad thai was very good. We took Beth and the kids back to their hotel close to the race site and Jeff and I headed back to our hotel. Another double check of the special needs and morning bags and it was to lights out around 9p.
Friday, August 26, 2011
2 days left!
We had heard some folks got a practice swim in yesterday and our schedule called for a swim today if we could, however they had signs up everywhere saying no Triathletes and no swimming. Oh well, we can get it in tomorrow.
Howard came by the hotel to pickup his bike and so we took him out to drive some of the bike course. Man it seems like it keeps getting more hilly. Though Howard's GPS took us to a resident for pizza we were able to find a place that had pretty good spaghetti and meat balls and we split a cheese pizza.
Thursday, August 25, 2011
More Kentucky hospitality
We slept in again, but made breakfast at the hotel. We went to packet pickup and met my Twitter friends Kristine and Trevor. Trevor was competing in IML, as well, and being introduced by David Crowder we'd carried on many conversations about the up coming event. Packet pickup definitely got the blood flowing - this thing was really going to happen! Kristine, Trevor, Jeff and I went for lunch and had some really good Japanese food. It was neat to visit and have the entire restaurant to ourselves.
We were to ride a loop but it was longer than the 1.5 hour ride we had scheduled and traffic seemed to be pretty busy. That loop doesn't have shoulders on the roads so we decided to ride the out/back again and would head towards LaGrange.
I REALLY like the out/back. Much of the ride is in the shade with the trees growing over the road and there aren't many houses there, though there is more traffic that I'd expect on that road. I flew down the slopes and went at a snail's pace up the inclines trying to keep my HR in check. One of the reasons I like riding up the ravine is because I can feel the strength in my legs. These are hills I would not have been able to ride a year ago. I knew this was going to be an exciting part of the course on race day as again there are no shoulders on the road and if we are bunched up going down those slopes it's going to be wicked. I hit 40+ not even pedaling and sitting up like a parachute trying to catch wind to slow down a little.
On the way back out of the ravine (the 1 mile incline) I heard a car behind me. As I was in no hurry, I waved the car to pass me. I was as close to the edge as I could possibly be, yet the car didn't pass. I waved them on again, but this time I was a little startled to hear heavy breathing/grunting as a cyclist was passing me. The car I heard was following him and she soon passed as well. Still climbing, billy bob-over weight-wanna be cowboy pulled up next to me, rolled down his window, and proceed to scream at me, "Don't you know you're a hazard!". Excuse me?! I had on a neon bright yellow shirt, I had my flashing light on, I was on the edge of the road. I was a hazard to no one. I started to comment back, but he rolled his window up and gunned it. I gave him all the sign language I knew with a smile. I was hoping he had made a turn into one of the driveways ahead, but I never saw him again.
Making it back to the main road I began to ride to LaGrange, but now I was a hazard and I was nervous. As you enter Oldham County they had huge signs directed at cyclists. It gave a list of items for cyclists to follow as to not upset the drivers. Are you kidding me?! This sign simply amazed me. There were lots of cars and again no shoulders. I found a driveway to turn in and rode back to the out/back. Unfortunately, a few miles from my truck I began to hear the unwanted sound of a tire problem. Sure enough, I had a tire falling apart. Extra tube I had, extra tire I did not. Luckily, I was able to make it back to the truck by riding very slowly.
Dinner was sushi! I've really fallen for sushi this year. About the only thing I've not tried is eel and roe. However, this places rolls were pretty thin and left me yearning for a little more. Mike and Kristen were down at the Spaghetti Factory carbing up so Jeff and I walked down there and met up with them. It was good to see familiar faces and share our experiences in Louisville so far. Kristen and Mike ordered and so did I! Yep, dinner number 2. I had spaghetti with a mushroom marinara so pretty tame by my standards and Jeff ate my salad :)
Wednesday, August 24, 2011
Day 1 in Louisville
Jeff and I slept in, but awoke hungry. We'd missed the hotel breakfast so we headed towards downtown only about 4 miles away. We spotted a diner, but it was closed. Fortunately, there was a meter maid writing some poor sap a ticket and Jeff asked her for a recommendation. She gave us directions to "Toast". To my amazement she actually led us there and it was a genuine act of kindness - WELCOME TO LOUISVILLE! "Toast" was fabulous and highly recommended. After breakfast we were close to the IML run so we drove the course. It was going to be a beautiful course. Started out going over a bridge over the Ohio River and then back through downtown and then out into the surrounding neighborhoods, University of Louisville, and further out to more neighborhoods. Two things we noticed right away was it was pretty flat and it was mostly in the shade. In downtown, the tall buildings would provide the shade and in the neighborhoods trees grew over the streets. It had a very homey feel.
We went back and got the bikes and drove the bike course. Um, there are a LOT of hills. I was prepared for the out/back section that has a huge ravine in the middle of it, but the back side of the loop is pretty much up hill with constant rollers with an overall net gain. There wasn't any shade on the back either. That was going to be tough. We found a spot to park and rode the out and back. This is Kentucky horse country and it was very quiet. I loved it. Down the ravine we went and I went 40+ riding my breaks, but what goes down must go up in the bike world! I didn't get much speed up and so I put it in granny gear and just went slow. This was going to be the plan for race day. Coming back you go down and back up the ravine, but this part of the back up is right at a mile long - straight climb. I must remember to take this easy as this is probably at about 40 mile mark.
On the way back to the hotel we decided to eat and I had my first Tappas ever. Food was delicious, but not real high on the carbs. Have to better tomorrow.
Tuesday, August 23, 2011
Leaving for Louisville!
As usual, I was running a little late, but pulled up at Jeff's about 6:30a and loaded his and Howard's bike. We soon hit traffic in between Arlington and Dallas. All and all a pretty good day - we weren't in too big of a hurry. What we thought was a 14 hour drive turned into a 16.5 hour drive. Jeff went into the fabulous Ramada to check us in and what seemed to take forever I went in to tell the guy at the desk I'd be expecting a package. They had originally booked us on the top floor, but Jeff is a thinking man and asked for a bottom floor because of the bikes. I found the reason it was taking so long is the portly man checking us in was given Jeff pointers on how to do Ironman Louisville, but I was tired and pressed for us to go. I handed the man my card and asked him to make note that I was expecting a package and since we were registered under Jeff's name to please not send the package back. He responded, "that's a good idea because the people working here aren't very smart". After he finished his wisdom on the finer points of how to conquer Ironman Louisville we drove around to the back of the hotel for our room. With arms full of luggage and bike equipment Jeff stuck the card key in the door. The light turned green. Jeff opened door only to find it was chained from the inside. Yes, we had been given someone else's room!
Sunday, June 26, 2011
Buffalo Springs 70.3
6/26/11 Buffalo Springs 70.3
Total 7:55:10
Swim 00:38:56
2:02/100m
Bike: 3:51:23
avg 14.42 mph
Run: 3:16:29
14:59/mi
108 temp, 20 mph wind w/40 mph gusts or times would have been much better
Sunday, June 19, 2011
1 Week to BSLT
Mother Nature seems to be pissed. Last night we had 4 trees snapped in half from ferocious winds. Temps were 103 and winds howling again today. This mornings 1.5h run went pretty well. I ran a hour and then back to truck to get another bottle of cold water. After yesterday's over heat in 106 weather I didn't want it to happen again. By the time I finished the run the wind was absolutely howling I was in no mood to do a BTP ride in that wind so I went home after the run. Steven and I quickly cleaned the kitchen and ran off to Sushi Axiom for lunch. It was devine! Upon returning home I got a quick nap and then set up the trainer for a planned 2 hour ride. I'm not sure why, but the trainer absolutely kills me. I don't know why I can go for a 4 hour ride, but 1 hour on trainer and I'm done! I was able to stretch another 40 minutes out before I lost all strength. My HR was barely over 120 not even in TP zone (130 is my low #) and I was fried.
One week to 70.3 Buffalo Springs and a busy week ahead. Lots of training still to come for IML.
One week to 70.3 Buffalo Springs and a busy week ahead. Lots of training still to come for IML.
It was supposed to be 4hr ride and 30 min run...
But, it ended up being 3:30 ride and no run. Ride was to be BTP and it was for the first 2 hours, but when I got to the far end I had nothing, but headwind with gusts of 35mph blowing the lovely 106 temp on me. I felt really good until the trip back. I only went 10 miles during the 3rd hour and I was crushed. I went through 3 water bottles of water as planned, but even the first insulated bottle was hot. I lost 8.4 lbs on that ride and I did the usual water every 15 min, gel every 30 min, and 2 salt tabs every hour. I should have done more salt tabs. I noticed that I don't think I like the caffienated gels. I fill a little queazy after taking it at the top of every hour.
I was very close to heat stroke and didn't do the scheduled 30 min run. It was so hot that my sweat was drying before it could soak my clothes. Since my hr was still low doing the BTP ride and not profusely sweating I thought I was OK. I was shocked when I weighed out and it explained my awful feeling.
I was very close to heat stroke and didn't do the scheduled 30 min run. It was so hot that my sweat was drying before it could soak my clothes. Since my hr was still low doing the BTP ride and not profusely sweating I thought I was OK. I was shocked when I weighed out and it explained my awful feeling.
Saturday, June 18, 2011
Starting back
Trying to get back in the swing of writing in this thing. If I don't get the tab open I forget about it. I've got an easy 4h ride today, and still fighting a cold. My head feel like someone used a sledge hammer on it. Trying to rehydrate and get a little breakfast in before heading out in the heat. One thing over the last couple of weeks is that the heat hasn't bothered me a bit and that will be huge in Louisville. It's been 95-102 and long rides and runs have gone well.
Sunday, May 22, 2011
Swim, Run, Bike
I swam a hour at Lake Benbrook today. For some odd reason I didn't bring my wetsuit. OK, I didn't bring it because Louisville will not be wetsuit legal, but my next race is Buffalo Springs 70.3 and it will be so I need to keep wearing my suit for open water swims. The water was cold but felt good on my sore legs from yesterday's ride. It was windy but I felt strong going into the wind and really stretched out and glided coming back.
The wind really picked up on the run and the sun came out from behind the clouds and the humidity seemed to jump. I went out 30 min and the wind was brutal. I went ahead and went up Nice Hill though my 30 min was up and it was a mistake. While I made it up the hill fine I had no gas left in the tank to come back. That was disappointing because I had the wind with me. I didn't gel at the half way point either and I should have. I decided not to because it was only a hour run, but I'd just finished a hour swim. Lesson learned.
Ran to get a big Gatorade and on to Jimmy John's for sandwich. Hate it in the parking lot so it'd have time to digest while I drove back home for my 2 hour bike ride. The wind was really building and the skies were dark again. After being hailed on yesterday I pedaled a little faster then about half way point of first hour I kept hearing my phone signal text messages coming in. I finished climbing a long hill and pulled over. Glad I did because it was work issue that ended up taking my over 5 hours to resolve. I cut my ride short at 1 hour to deal with work and it was almost pitch black due to storms rolling in. It soon began to downpour - glad I cut it short. Got this weeks schedule and the coming week is going to be ball buster - can't wait
The wind really picked up on the run and the sun came out from behind the clouds and the humidity seemed to jump. I went out 30 min and the wind was brutal. I went ahead and went up Nice Hill though my 30 min was up and it was a mistake. While I made it up the hill fine I had no gas left in the tank to come back. That was disappointing because I had the wind with me. I didn't gel at the half way point either and I should have. I decided not to because it was only a hour run, but I'd just finished a hour swim. Lesson learned.
Ran to get a big Gatorade and on to Jimmy John's for sandwich. Hate it in the parking lot so it'd have time to digest while I drove back home for my 2 hour bike ride. The wind was really building and the skies were dark again. After being hailed on yesterday I pedaled a little faster then about half way point of first hour I kept hearing my phone signal text messages coming in. I finished climbing a long hill and pulled over. Glad I did because it was work issue that ended up taking my over 5 hours to resolve. I cut my ride short at 1 hour to deal with work and it was almost pitch black due to storms rolling in. It soon began to downpour - glad I cut it short. Got this weeks schedule and the coming week is going to be ball buster - can't wait
Saturday, May 21, 2011
Hail, Rain and wind
The 1h swim went great! I felt really long and catching the water well.
The ride was the hardest 3 hour ride I've ever had. The ride was 1h TP, 40 min of hill repeats, 20 min TP, then another 1h TP. The first hour included a beautiful storm coming. The problem was it was coming fast. I wanted to stop and take a pic, but it was bearing down on me and it was going to be close that I could possibly just catch the edge of it. I thought I'd out ran it when the sustained 25 mph winds turned into 35mph gusts and I wouldn't be surprised there were some more than that. Then came the pea size hail and of course there was no place for me to hide so I just pedaled harder. Then came the cold rain and the rain drops were HUGE and I finally out ran the rain, but not the wind. The hill repeats were into that wind and it was 90% humidity. It was 20 min repeat with 10 min easy the 20 min hill repeat. I was supposed to be getting into race pace on the hills and I was so close to puking at the top of that hill, but when I coasted to the bottom my heart would be back down below TP. Just hope the quick recovery will happen on the run, too.
The ride was the hardest 3 hour ride I've ever had. The ride was 1h TP, 40 min of hill repeats, 20 min TP, then another 1h TP. The first hour included a beautiful storm coming. The problem was it was coming fast. I wanted to stop and take a pic, but it was bearing down on me and it was going to be close that I could possibly just catch the edge of it. I thought I'd out ran it when the sustained 25 mph winds turned into 35mph gusts and I wouldn't be surprised there were some more than that. Then came the pea size hail and of course there was no place for me to hide so I just pedaled harder. Then came the cold rain and the rain drops were HUGE and I finally out ran the rain, but not the wind. The hill repeats were into that wind and it was 90% humidity. It was 20 min repeat with 10 min easy the 20 min hill repeat. I was supposed to be getting into race pace on the hills and I was so close to puking at the top of that hill, but when I coasted to the bottom my heart would be back down below TP. Just hope the quick recovery will happen on the run, too.
Friday, May 20, 2011
Hill repeats
Had a great run tonight - really feeling strong. There is no way I could have done this workout last year. Very excited about how well this run went even though it was very humid - bring on IML!
Thursday, May 19, 2011
#2 ride on road bike & new coaching era
Both hamstrings were a little sore until about 20 min in, but it went away. I'm not stretching like I should after I run. Overall, pretty good 1 hr TP ride for as windy as it was.
Coach Roberto informed me today that he was leaving Playtri. I could either stay with him as he goes out on his own or he would help transition me to another Playtri Coach. Roberto has been great and I will be staying with him.
Coach Roberto informed me today that he was leaving Playtri. I could either stay with him as he goes out on his own or he would help transition me to another Playtri Coach. Roberto has been great and I will be staying with him.
Wednesday, May 18, 2011
Night run
It's the first time I've ran at night in a long time and it was kind of nice. Didn't get dizzy which I thought I might. It was kind of humid, and the wind wasn't blowing but overall nice. The run went well. Felt strong.
Tuesday, May 17, 2011
Hills and 1 leg drills
Today's bike went well. It was a nice evening and everything is so green. 1 hour ride: with in the seat hills, out of the seat hills then one leg pedal each side. Feeling pretty strong. Had to use my road bike while the Tri's being worked on.
Monday, May 16, 2011
ENT, bike in shop
Off day today.
Met with the ENT today. He think dizziness is caused by too much pressure behind ear and wants be to continue allergy meds and to try and pop ears (hold nose and blow) 10-15x per day. He said there is a valve that should be opening that would relieve that pressure and in my case that valve is weak. Popping the ears will strengthen the valve. Return in 1 week for more tests.
Put the bike in the shop to get overall tune up, true up rear tire, replace R arm rest, replace front brake cable, replace rear tire and head tube is loose. Glad I've got the road bike as the shop is a little behind. No worries - Colonel's is the best and Aubrey will take care of her.
Met with the ENT today. He think dizziness is caused by too much pressure behind ear and wants be to continue allergy meds and to try and pop ears (hold nose and blow) 10-15x per day. He said there is a valve that should be opening that would relieve that pressure and in my case that valve is weak. Popping the ears will strengthen the valve. Return in 1 week for more tests.
Put the bike in the shop to get overall tune up, true up rear tire, replace R arm rest, replace front brake cable, replace rear tire and head tube is loose. Glad I've got the road bike as the shop is a little behind. No worries - Colonel's is the best and Aubrey will take care of her.
Friday, May 13, 2011
Stress Test
The Stress Test went very well today. This was done just to make sure everything OK from when had drop in blood pressure along with the dizziness/nausea I've been experiencing. I actually had to run to get my HR up where he wanted it (which they said was unusual). The doctor said, "you're healthier than 98% of the people we see". After hitting my max number (90% HR) the doctor was looking for I had to immediately lay on the table so tech could do ultrasound of my heart (they'd done one prior to test). While he was doing the ultrasound a nurse was taking my blood pressure. With in 15 seconds of hitting my max HR, my blood pressure had already recovered to 114/70. When the nurse called it out the tech exclaimed, "WHAT?!", she yelled back "I know! I did it twice - he's already recovered" The nurse said she'd never had anyone recover that fast and the tech said it'd been a LONG time since he'd seen it. All good news for me. Bring on the hills - BRING ON IRONMAN LOUISVILLE!!!!
Sunday, May 8, 2011
Nutrition!!!!!
I've got to get better about my nutrition. I'm simply not getting enough good carbs in. My coaches' goal for this phase of training is 60% carb, 20% protein, 20% fat and my carbs have routinely been low 50. My wife became a vegetarian about 5 weeks ago and I'm going to make an effort of eating more of what she does. She has experienced more energy and her not having some of the GI issues she previously experienced on her long runs (she's training for Rock n Roll San Diego Marathon - her first). We'll see how it goes.
Friday, May 6, 2011
CT Scan
CT scan was normal, except for some long term build up in the right inner ear from allergy drainage. Trying to find out why the dizziness/nausea. Pressure in right ear still pretty intense.
Tuesday, May 3, 2011
Wimpy!
My first day back on the bike was awful! I was going to ride a hour on the trainer, but only managed 30 minutes. My hamstrings were screaming and felt dehydrated, again. Also, I wasn't able to catch my breath and I was at the minimum of my TP Zone. Back to the drawing board.
Monday, May 2, 2011
Little catch up on dizziness
Well I've had 3 episodes of the dizziness/nausea and last night was pretty bad. My HR dropped to 52 which is pretty low for me and I was quite miserable and just went to bed. Went to the Dr today and he thinks I've got 2 different things going on. I've got a lot of fluid behind the ear causing the dizzy/nausea. I've fought an ear ache for 2 years now so he wants a CT scan to find out why it's not draining. He did EKG and there are some mild abnormalities, but he thinks it's a false alarm caused being in good shape and having lower HR. The abnormal blips could be caused by low potassium, too. However, since I've got a Half next month and full in Aug he wants me to do a stress to make sure all is well. I've been put on easy workouts until we get the test results. Got a B12 shot and meds to try to dry the fluid up behind my ear.
Wednesday, April 27, 2011
Yuck...
I felt very nauseous before workout today so headed home. By the time I got home I was both dizzy and nauseous so just went to bed and I was out by 8:30. Woke up feeling much better. Who knows what it was, probably didn't drink enough water - never do :(
Tuesday, April 26, 2011
Monday, April 25, 2011
Recovery week!
Had a day off - rest and relaxation today. That was a good ride yesterday as my legs are sore today. Getting stronger :)
Sunday, April 24, 2011
4 hours in the saddle
After yesterday's 2 hours on the bike followed by 1 hour run (not a brick) I already had a nice rash working and oh the pain today. 2 hours into my ride every pedal stroke hurt as the rash between my legs intensified. I guess I didn't put enough Body Glide on :)
The wind continued to try and dominate me again today coming strong out of the south it seemed like every substantial hill was into the wind. Today's 4 hour ride had 1849 feet of hill ascend and I felt it all today. When I got off of the bike I was wind whipped, stiff, nauseous, and my mind was in a fog. We choose to do this to ourselves?!
From talking to my coach I know that I'm a little short on my calorie intake, but we are trying to be more fat burning efficient at this stage of training, too, which is a great thing. The plan going forward will be to take in a few more calories to get me through the ride if I need it. On today's ride I lost 5.8 lbs or 2.8% of body weight so I'm right where I need to be (of course I put some of it back on by morning). However, I have officially lost a pound this year - not much, but not bad either considering I was at +13 in March. I'd really like to lose about another 13 lbs by IML. I take 1 gel (110 cal) every 30 minutes and drink 1 28 oz bottle water every hour (taking fluids every 10-15 min).
The wind continued to try and dominate me again today coming strong out of the south it seemed like every substantial hill was into the wind. Today's 4 hour ride had 1849 feet of hill ascend and I felt it all today. When I got off of the bike I was wind whipped, stiff, nauseous, and my mind was in a fog. We choose to do this to ourselves?!
From talking to my coach I know that I'm a little short on my calorie intake, but we are trying to be more fat burning efficient at this stage of training, too, which is a great thing. The plan going forward will be to take in a few more calories to get me through the ride if I need it. On today's ride I lost 5.8 lbs or 2.8% of body weight so I'm right where I need to be (of course I put some of it back on by morning). However, I have officially lost a pound this year - not much, but not bad either considering I was at +13 in March. I'd really like to lose about another 13 lbs by IML. I take 1 gel (110 cal) every 30 minutes and drink 1 28 oz bottle water every hour (taking fluids every 10-15 min).
Saturday, April 23, 2011
Wind!
I'm sick and tired of the wind! Coach says it is a great opportunity - okay. So today's workout was 2 hour TP bike and 1 hour TP run (not brick). Rode with Jeff - he's such a machine. Once we hit an incline he takes off and I drop like a sack of potatoes.
The run went well. I still am surprised how my running has changed with just a little technique tweaks. My heart rate was on the high side of TP and I think it's because of dehydration. That concerns me because it happened on a 2 hour ride. I drank a Gatorade and water in between the ride & run so it was surprising, but it did present the opportunity to run on a little high heart rate than usual.
The run went well. I still am surprised how my running has changed with just a little technique tweaks. My heart rate was on the high side of TP and I think it's because of dehydration. That concerns me because it happened on a 2 hour ride. I drank a Gatorade and water in between the ride & run so it was surprising, but it did present the opportunity to run on a little high heart rate than usual.
Thursday, April 21, 2011
Thursday was better
It only took 3 alarm clocks to get my lazy butt out the door this morning, but I did it. I put in an easy 45 min in heavy mist/light rain and it felt good to be done so early. The evening workout was another 2600 swim with lots of intervals and a race pace 300 yd test: 4:49:04 Not too speedy, but not bad for an age grouper either after putting in 2100 yards.
Wednesday, April 20, 2011
1 hr bike hill repeats - yeah!
Bike hill repeats went well. Anyone got a spare set of training wheels?
Thank you Coach for this morning's talk (email) - you're a good man.
Thank you Coach for this morning's talk (email) - you're a good man.
Tuesday, April 19, 2011
Just not getting it done
Today I was scheduled for a run and swim workout and didn't get either one completed. I slept in this morning and was too late to get my run in. By quitting time at work I was really dragging. I got dressed to run and started messing with the pool. I was actually just putting the run off. We had some severe storms in the area that started just on the edge of town and continued to move away from us. I didn't get one drop of rain, but my excuse was if I went for a run I'd get stuck in a hail storm and if I drove to town for a swim then the pool would be closed due to lightening. I should have just went and ran on treadmill and then swam when the storm passed. I did get in bed earlier than usual. Will tri again tomorrow.
Monday, April 18, 2011
Drink your water!
Today was a good example on how not to be a good Triathlete. I slept in, again, and didn't get my lifting in until the evening. I then got on the trainer. All was going well, but I had the tension set too high and kept having to adjust it. Forty-five minutes into the scheduled 1.5 hour ride I was toast. Looking back I had one cup of water all day. What an idiot! Coffee and tea were the drink of choice and I was so dehydrated the ride kicked my butt. Lesson learned and will tri again tomorrow.
Saturday, April 16, 2011
Club workout
Today Playtri had a 2 hour swim, 1 hour bike and 1 hour run workout. The day started about 50 degrees, but the wind wasn't so bad. I was glad to get in the wet suit and in the water since the water was warmer, but that didn't last long as most people were shivering when they were discussing techniques to us. Draft! Draft! Draft! We practiced legal drafting on the bike and did a lot of run drills. I'm feeling the best ever about my running ability!
Wednesday, April 13, 2011
7 mi run
Ran with Beth and Tonya today. This is the first run I've ever had that I could keep up with Beth! Yes, she was running slower than normal, but hey I did it and once she did speed up I was still able to hang. It was a beautiful evening with out any wind and that doesn't happen very often. Of course, I blew all of the work by going to Rio Mambo and having half a dozen corn tortillas before the meal showed up. I had a grilled fish, mex rice and bean soup. I've got to control that dinner, but I was down about 1500 calories going into dinner. I need to eat more during the day.
Tuesday, April 12, 2011
Bike & Swim
Bike: 10 min wu/cd, then 40 minutes of in hardest gear go for 1 min push/pull as hard as I can and then spin for 2 min rest. The 40+ grams of fiber I had today was sitting heavy and couldn't force myself to go as hard as usual.
Swim: met with Jeff and we had a workout of 22x50 yard sprints at different intensities, 2x400 yard IM pace (we practiced drafting) and had total of 2600 yard.
Blew it all by going to Braum's for cheeseburger, fries and small shake.
Swim: met with Jeff and we had a workout of 22x50 yard sprints at different intensities, 2x400 yard IM pace (we practiced drafting) and had total of 2600 yard.
Blew it all by going to Braum's for cheeseburger, fries and small shake.
Monday, April 11, 2011
Day off!
What's this? I have a day off scheduled. I think it's the 2nd day I've not had something scheduled since beginning my coaching with Roberto. We had storms last night and this morning was cool and I was itching to go for a run. WHAT? WHO SAID THAT? I actually said I was itching to go for a run?! I never thought I'd mention those words. What have I become? Have I actually become an athlete? A Triathlete?
We've been keeping close track of my food intake the last couple of weeks and I was a little surprised to find my fat intake so high. We're going to shoot for 60% carb, 20% prtn and 20% fat and see how it goes. Both my carb and protein we're lower that I expected. This should improve some things.
We've been keeping close track of my food intake the last couple of weeks and I was a little surprised to find my fat intake so high. We're going to shoot for 60% carb, 20% prtn and 20% fat and see how it goes. Both my carb and protein we're lower that I expected. This should improve some things.
Sunday, April 10, 2011
1st Open Water Swim of the season
I'm not sure what the temp of the water was, but I was OK in my wetsuit. Wind was still sustained at about 20 mph, but I enjoyed the hour swim. I found it really easy to spot where I was going, which I was surprised with after being in the pool all winter. Neal and I swam while other NoNamers ran. I wasn't up to running first with the way the wind was blowing. I was still in the water when they got back and swam a few laps with them then I got out and kept a watchful eye on everyone. After the swim brought our favorite thing about Triathlon: T3 at Fuzzy's Tacos. Today the Migas was especially tasty. I guess the swim was harder than I thought. By the time I got home all I wanted was a nap and amazingly I was able to get one in even though the final round of the Masters was on. I hit the record button and dozed off. After I awoke I drank a little Gatorade and headed out for my hour TP run. The wind had died down some, but it was still warm and today's Migas wasn't sitting well. I think I was dehydrated because my HR was high from the get go. I just kept the run slow and got through. It was a good day to be a Triathlete!
Mike, Kristen, Ben, Lionel
Jeff
Saturday, April 9, 2011
4 hr ride in the wind
Today we had sustained winds at 25 mph with gusts AVERAGING 39 mph. That equals a tough ride. A 4 hour ride at that. At one point heading into the wind out by Lake Benbrook in a flat section without any trees around I was going just about as hard as I could with my HR screaming I looked down to see I was going 7 mph. I typically cruise 17-18 in that section. Not to mention the wind, but it was the warmest day that I had ridden this season at 91 degrees and 65% humidity - bring on Louisville! I lost almost 6 lbs on that ride.
Sunday, March 27, 2011
TriCowtown Sprint 3/27/11
The first Triathlon of the season! Yesterday was in the 80's - today 40. Many people were complaining about how cold it was, but I wasn't feeling it. I guess I was pumped up. I got there early and got body marked and setup in plenty of time to chill out and visit with a lot of friends. I took a gel 10 min before the race with water.
Race: 300 yd swim, 14.1 mi bike, 5K run
The swim was in 25 yd pool (which I don't like) but my estimated time of 4:59 put me at #80 to start so things weren't backed up in the pool at all. I never caught anyone to be able to practice drafting, nor did I get passed. I went across the mat out side the building at 5:02 so I was right on pace. This was a good thing because this was the first Tri I ever did where I didn't do the swim too hard. As I left the pool I saw Jeff, Mike, Kristen and Jenn got lots of high 5's. That was great!
I am not one to put my shoes on the bike first and I had a little problem getting my foot in my shoe. The run with the bike wasn't very far and was in/out of T1 in 1:58.
The bike was out and back and the out was going to be with the wind so I decided to push the out. I was able to average about 22 mph out and was able to stay aero most of the way. I never was able to get behind anyone to practice legal drafting and was only passed by 2 riders that were absolutely hauling. I never heard them coming. Coming back was into that bitter north wind and everyone slowed. I slowed as well but kept cranking the miles out and finished in 44:53 (avg 18.4 mph, 21/22 was the highest I saw so I didn't feel too bad with that ride.)
Jeff was there screaming at me as I came into T2 and again had problem getting into the shoes. I kind of trip and almost knocked my bike off of the rack. Out in 1:29.
I have been working on my running form and it really paid off. I've had MANY 12 min/mi runs in the past and even as recent as December. But, today was my day. It was relatively flat course out to the lake and back. I did the 5K in 26:34 (8:34 pace) for a new PR for 5K. My previous time was 29 and change and only broke 30 that one time and all during 5K only events. To think that I'd run 8:34 in a Tri was awesome! I did this on my own as well not finding any other runners that were at the same pace.
Total time: 1:19:58 a new PR for a sprint as I'd not broke 1:30 on shorter sprints. Ended up 10th in age group, 6th in Clydesdale, and 85th out of 297. Good way to start the road to Louisville!
Race: 300 yd swim, 14.1 mi bike, 5K run
The swim was in 25 yd pool (which I don't like) but my estimated time of 4:59 put me at #80 to start so things weren't backed up in the pool at all. I never caught anyone to be able to practice drafting, nor did I get passed. I went across the mat out side the building at 5:02 so I was right on pace. This was a good thing because this was the first Tri I ever did where I didn't do the swim too hard. As I left the pool I saw Jeff, Mike, Kristen and Jenn got lots of high 5's. That was great!
I am not one to put my shoes on the bike first and I had a little problem getting my foot in my shoe. The run with the bike wasn't very far and was in/out of T1 in 1:58.
The bike was out and back and the out was going to be with the wind so I decided to push the out. I was able to average about 22 mph out and was able to stay aero most of the way. I never was able to get behind anyone to practice legal drafting and was only passed by 2 riders that were absolutely hauling. I never heard them coming. Coming back was into that bitter north wind and everyone slowed. I slowed as well but kept cranking the miles out and finished in 44:53 (avg 18.4 mph, 21/22 was the highest I saw so I didn't feel too bad with that ride.)
Jeff was there screaming at me as I came into T2 and again had problem getting into the shoes. I kind of trip and almost knocked my bike off of the rack. Out in 1:29.
I have been working on my running form and it really paid off. I've had MANY 12 min/mi runs in the past and even as recent as December. But, today was my day. It was relatively flat course out to the lake and back. I did the 5K in 26:34 (8:34 pace) for a new PR for 5K. My previous time was 29 and change and only broke 30 that one time and all during 5K only events. To think that I'd run 8:34 in a Tri was awesome! I did this on my own as well not finding any other runners that were at the same pace.
Total time: 1:19:58 a new PR for a sprint as I'd not broke 1:30 on shorter sprints. Ended up 10th in age group, 6th in Clydesdale, and 85th out of 297. Good way to start the road to Louisville!
Pictures from TriCowtown Sprint 3/27/11
Thursday, March 24, 2011
RMR and Calorie tests for Run & Bike done
My RMR was less than I thought so I need to move more especially since I have a desk job. Sounds kind of funny since I'm training for an Ironman. My eating habits have been awful this month and it shows because I've put on 8 lbs in 2011. I know I can get it off and today is the day to start it. IM will be here before I know it.
Thursday, March 17, 2011
3/17 Intervals, NCAA, Jpn
Ran a hour with intervals - wow - it was tough. Very windy today. Hips were sore and tight from bike intervals yesterday. Didn't hinder running though. Tried to focus on lifting heels to butt and leaning forward. Worked well...
NCAA Basketball tournament starts today! I refuse to acknowledge play in games - nothing against the teams that played yesterday. I haven't watched much basketball this season, but I picking Kansas over Duke. Don't know how I got Duke that far because I don't think they are as strong as in years past.
NCAA Basketball tournament starts today! I refuse to acknowledge play in games - nothing against the teams that played yesterday. I haven't watched much basketball this season, but I picking Kansas over Duke. Don't know how I got Duke that far because I don't think they are as strong as in years past.
http://www.channel4.com/news/japan-earthquake-and-tsunami-interactive-video-timeline
Thursday 17 March
Britons in Tokyo and the area north of the capital are advised to leave after fears regarding radiation poisoning. Other countries such as Australia and the US follow suit.
As military helicopters begin spraying water on the stricken plant officials say radiation levels have fallen over the past 24 hours. Winds continue to blow towards the Pacific Ocean where any radioactive material will break up.
TEPCO says pressure is rising again at reactor No. 3. It says there was still water in its spent-fuel pool. On Wednesday, the company described the situation there as "not so good." The US Nuclear Regulator Commission said on Wednesday there was no water in the pool.
Company officials express hope of getting limited power to the plant to help pump water but not yet for reactors 3 and 4.
At around 5:30 pm local time officials say three of the six reactors at plant are now relatively stable.
Wednesday, March 16, 2011
3/16 Japan con't
weights
Bike: intervals - wow
http://www.channel4.com/news/japan-earthquake-and-tsunami-interactive-video-timeline
Wednesday 16 March
One hundred and eighty workers re left on site at the complex as the crisis continues.
Tokyo Electric Power Co says it recorded the site's highest levels of radiation at the No.3 reactor on Wednesday.
At the No.2 reactor the temperature stabilizes and pressure drops. Water is being poured into reactors No.5 and No.6 while Japan says it wants to use its military to help pump water to the No.3 reactor.
Radiation levels at a monitoring post outside the Fukushima Daiichi plant had spiked at 0330 GMT to 10,850 microsieverts per hour, but fell back later to 2,331 microsieverts an hour later, it says.
Tuesday, March 15, 2011
3/15 Reactor problems still in Japan
Swim 2600 (lot so of intervals - killer)
Run 1 hr TP - thinking about raising hill is working well
via: http://www.channel4.com/news/japan-earthquake-and-tsunami-interactive-video-timeline
Tuesday 15 March
On Tuesday morning radiation levels rise fourfold after an explosion at the No.2 reactor. Residents within a 30km radius are warned to stay indoors amid fears of a nuclear leakage. A no-fly zone is also put in place.
Small levels of radiation are detected in Tokyo, although a city government official says the levels are "not a problem".
Radiation levels in a number of areas, including Tokyo, are up to 10 times normal, but there is no threat to human health, the city government says.
Japan tells the UN radioactivity was being released "directly" into the atmosphere, the IAEA says, while the radiation levels have fallen according to the government.
There are two holes of 8-metres square in a wall of the outer building of the No.4 reactor after a blast in the morning.
Winds are dispersing radioactive material over the Pacific Ocean, away from Japan and other Asian countries, the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) says.
At almost 9pm a local news agency reports that radiation levels at the No. 4 reactor have become too high to conduct normal work from its control room. Workers cannot stay long and are going in and out of the control room as well as monitoring from a different place.
Monday, March 14, 2011
3/14 Nuc reactor probs in Japan
24 weeks to Louisville - day off!
Several nuclear reactors are having issues in Japan after the earthquake and tsunami on 3/11
Several nuclear reactors are having issues in Japan after the earthquake and tsunami on 3/11
From: http://www.channel4.com/news/japan-earthquake-and-tsunami-interactive-video-timeline
Monday 14 March
Local news channels broadcast footage of smoke rising from the No.3 reactor and reports another hydrogen explosion at the plant.
Later Japan's nuclear safety agency confirms a new explosion rocked the nuclear power complex, sending a plume of smoke into the air - but officials say the primary containment vessel at the No.3 reactor is not damaged.
Water levels at the No.2 reactor fall and its cooling functions stop. News reports suggest the nuclear fuel rods in the reactor are now fully exposed. A meltdown of the fuel rods cannot be ruled out, local news sources say.
Sunday, March 13, 2011
3/13 Sun St Patrick's Day Sprint Tri (not in it)
St. Patrick's Day Tri (Sprint) was today and Jeff rocked it coming 11th overall in his age group with his fastest 5k ever. Kristen did very well, too. Way to go NoName!
After some celebratory Migas at Fuzzy's I had a 3 hr bike TP ride. Don't eat migas before I ride!
After some celebratory Migas at Fuzzy's I had a 3 hr bike TP ride. Don't eat migas before I ride!
Saturday, March 12, 2011
Japan Tsunami update / group workout
Group workout with Playtri: bike hills 1 hr, run hills 1 hr
Great workout -
Bike: keep arms bent, look up
Run: raise heel, lean into hills, drills jump touch toes, jump click heels, stand on one foot heel raised under butt.
This is a time line of the events via CNN web: http://edition.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/asiapcf/03/12/quake.tsunami.timeline/index.html:
Japan resident describes nuke evacuation
83 aftershocks in 21 hours in Japan
Gallery: Massive quake hits Japan
Map: 8.9 earthquake hits Japan
Residents watched as water rushed in
Scenes from the quake
Japan's streets unrecognizable after quake
Train cars thrown, crushed in tsunami
Timeline of disaster in Japan
Survivor describes roof collapse
Gallery: Massive quake hits Japan
Map: 8.9 earthquake hits Japan
Great workout -
Bike: keep arms bent, look up
Run: raise heel, lean into hills, drills jump touch toes, jump click heels, stand on one foot heel raised under butt.
This is a time line of the events via CNN web: http://edition.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/asiapcf/03/12/quake.tsunami.timeline/index.html:
FRIDAY 3/11/11
2:46 PM
Magnitude 8.9 earthquake 231 miles northeast of Tokyo, Japan at a depth of 15.2 miles.
Quake is fifth largest in the world (since 1900) and the largest quake ever to hit Japan.
Pacific Tsunami Warning Center issues tsunami warning for the Pacific Ocean from Japan to the U.S. west coast. Tsunami alerts sound in more than 50 countries and territories. .
Within an hour after the quake a wall of water up to 30 feet high washes over the Japanese coast.
Cars, boats and trains are swept away. Buildings collapse. Roads and highways are severed. Fires break out in many locations.
7:39 PM
Casualty reports begin to come in. Kyodo News Service reports at least 32 dead.
8:15 PM
Japanese government declares emergency for nuclear power plant near Sendai, 180 miles from Tokyo. Japan has 54 nuclear power plants.
9:35 PM
4 nuclear power plants closest to the quake are shut down.
10:29 PM
Cooling system at Fukushima nuclear report are reported not working: Authorities say they are "bracing for the worst.
Several thousand people living within a mile-and-a-half of the plant are ordered to evacuate.
10:48 PM
Japan resident describes nuke evacuation
83 aftershocks in 21 hours in Japan
Gallery: Massive quake hits Japan
Map: 8.9 earthquake hits JapanPolice report finding 200 -- 300 bodies in coastal city of Sendai.
60,000 -- 70,000 city residents evacuated to shelters.
11:40 PM
National Police up the confirmed death toll to 93.
11:53 PM
A fire at Onagawa nuclear plant is extinguished, according to the International Atomic Energy Agency.
SATURDAY
12:39 AM
Fires are reported in at least three Japanese prefectures (Hakodate, Chiba, Miyagi). An oil refinery was ablaze near Tokyo.
12:42 AM
A dam breaks in Fukushima prefecture, washing away scores of homes.
12:59 AM
4 million homes in Tokyo and surrounding areas are without power.
1:07 AM
Kyodo News Service puts number of confirmed deaths at 137.
1:31 AM
Delta cancels 29 flights into and out of Tokyo.
American Airlines diverts six flights en route to Tokyo to other airports.
1:57 AM
US Navy announces movement of seven ships toward Japan to assist relief efforts.
2:06 AM
Radiation level in Fukushima No. 1 nuclear power plant reported rising.
3:05 AM
President Obama says Japan's prime minister told him no evidence of radiation leaks from his country's nuclear power plants.
3:24 AM
Japanese trade minister Banri Kaieda says small radiation leak could occur at Fukushima nuclear plant.
3:34 AM
National Police up confirmed death toll to 151.
3:42 AM
Residents watched as water rushed in
Scenes from the quake
Japan's streets unrecognizable after quake
Train cars thrown, crushed in tsunamiSecretary of State Hillary Clinton announces US Air Force planes are headed to Japan carrying coolant for the Fukushima nuclear power pant. The report that the planes carried coolant is later found to be erroneous.
4:21 AM
6.2 magnitude earthquake hits Nagano and Niigata prefectures, according to the US Geological Survey.
4:40 AM
Power company officials announced they will vent possibly radioactive air from the Fukushima nuclear plant to avoid a breakdown of the reactor's containment vessels.
5:00 AM
Nuclear emergency declared at Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant.
Officials report the earthquake and tsunami cut off the plant's electrical power and that backup generators had been disabled by the tsunami.
5:15 AM
Coming of dawn reveals miles of highways closed by the quake.
13,000 people reported stranded at Narita airport, another 10,000 at Tokyo's Haneda airport.
5:44 AM
National Police now put death toll at at least 184.
5:56 AM
Another earthquake --- one of a series over the past 24 hours --- hits west coast of Honshu. The quake had a strength of 6.3 magnitude.
6:45 AM
Tokyo Electric Power IC. says radioactive substances could have leaked at the Fukushima No, 1 nuclear plant. Japan's Nuclear and Industrial Safety Agency says radiation near the plant's main gate is more than eight times normal level.
8:15 AM
Tsunamis continue to awash ashore on Japan's northeast coast.
Death toll now put at at least 427.
8:45 AM
Foreign minister says 25 countries, including the US, have offered assistance, including rescue teams and relief supplies.
9:45 AM
Timeline of disaster in Japan
Survivor describes roof collapse
Gallery: Massive quake hits Japan
Map: 8.9 earthquake hits JapanRELATED TOPICS
Tokyo Power Co. says cooling systems at three of the four units of its Fukushima Daini plant have failed.
11:20 AM
At least 6 million homes -- 10 percent of Japan's households are without electricity, according to the country's ambassador to the US.
12:32 AM
Stores begin to run out of food, water and gasoline as masses of residents of northern Japan stream south from their earthquake-stricken hometowns.
4:17 PM
Death toll rises to at least 900, according to the NHK broadcast network.
Rescuers struggle to pull survivors from collapsed homes, food waters, and fires.
4:19 PM
A small amount of radioactive Cesium has escaped from a nuclear plant in Fukushima prefecture, according to Japan's Nuclear and Industrial Agency. Officials say the leak could have been caused by the melting of a fuel rod.
6:22 PM
Tokyo Electric Company says an explosion at the Fukushima Daiichi plant injured four workers. (Kyodo News Agency will later quote electric company officials as saying the explosion caused the roof of a reactor to collapse.)
7:17 AM
Technicians worked to contain temperatures at two Japanese nuclear power plants where cooling systems had been crippled by the disaster.
In the US, nuclear expert Robert Alvarez (Institute for Policy Studies in Washington) says the situation "has the potential for disaster."
7:59 PM
US Geological Survey says the quake appears to have moved Japan's main island --- the whole island --- by 8 feet and shifted the earth on its axis.
8:18 PM
Evacuation area around Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant extended to 20 kilometers (about 12.5 miles.)
8:54 PM
Authorities insist no harmful gasses had been emitted by the explosion at Fukushima nuclear plant. They blamed the explosion on "water vapor that was part of the cooling process."
9:07 PM
Fires reported at more than 200 locations in 12 of Japan's prefectures.
10:01 PM
US Marines aircraft and helicopters are dispatched from bases on Okinawa to help in relief efforts.
10:35 PM
Radiation levels at the Fukushima Daiichi plant are reported to have fallen, as officials prepare to flood the containment structure with sea water to bring temperatures down.
Authorities make plans to distribute iodine tablets --- a treatment to prevent radiation poisoning -- to residents near two damaged nuclear plants.
10:37 PM
About 9500 people --- half the population -- are reported to be unaccounted for in the town of Minamisanriku on Japan's Pacific coast.
10:49 PM
A cabinet official says the collapse of the walls of a building at the Fukushima Daiichi plant did not damage the reactor and its containment system.
11:48 PM
Many areas experience blackouts as power plants are shut down for safety reasons. The number of houses without power is down to just over 5 million, according to the power company.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)









